Truth in Broadcasting

by Martin Baena

A: Yes. Yes, I do. I believe everything I see on TV. – Are you aware of what it costs to broadcast a single minute of television? The time and money that goes into producing a simple half-hour show? Or a news broadcast. And you’re telling me they’re gonna blow all that cashola on a, a lie? On something as small as a… as a fib?! To what end? To tell me something I don’t need. – How did I know I didn’t need it until they told me? I could’ve gone my whole life not knowing. No, the greatest truth in the universe emanates from that box. Is it dangerous to our health? Is what they’re telling me one-hundred percent factual? Maybe not, maybe not but goddamn it, it’s the truth.  The closest thing you’ll ever get to it, at any rate. If you watch. I mean really watch; the way people look at those three-dee puzzles. If you look through the flickering images: you’ll see it. It’s always there. So, yes. It is. It is the greatest truth humanity has ever known. And you should feel darn lucky to live in a time when it’s available to you.

-i-

This work by Martin Baena is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

Leave a Reply

